The Planning Committee is Chaired by Councillor Thomas O’Reilly for the 2022-2023 year.

The primary role of the Planning Committee is to exercise full delegated authority for the planning functions of the Council which have not been delegated to officers in relation to the Development Plan, Development Management and Enforcement.

The main remit of Fermanagh and Omagh District Council’s Planning Committee includes:

  • Exercising the Council’s powers and duties in relation to local planning policies, plan strategies, the statement of community involvement and any other planning documents;
  • Exercising the Council’s powers in relation to listed buildings;
  • Consideration of applications for planning permission and consents in accordance with the Council’s Scheme of Delegation;
  • Responding to consultations issued by the Department of the Environment or any other Department in relation to planning matters;
  • Responding to consultations in relation to regionally significant or major applications to be determined by the Department of the Environment;
  • Scrutiny of the Council’s delivery of the Planning functions.

The Planning Committee comprises of 13 members as listed below:

  • Glenn Campbell
  • John Coyle
  • Anthony Feely
  • Mary Garrity
  • Robert Irvine
  • Tommy Maguire
  • John McClaughry
  • Barry McElduff
  • Josephine Deehan
  • Thomas O’Reilly
  • Allan Rainey MBE
  • Paul Robinson
  • Errol Thompson
The Members of the Planning Committee must abide by the Councillors’ Code of Conduct and operate within the legislative framework of the Planning Act (NI) 2001, in relation to receiving and making decisions on planning applications and enforcing planning legislation and as such no Member of the Planning Committee should be contacted by applicants, agents, objectors or any other person seeking to lobby or influence Planning decisions.
Other Members who do not sit on the Planning Committee are permitted to speak and or make representations on behalf of constituents.  A full list of Members is available on the Council’s website at the ‘Councillor’ section.


Committee Members

Visit: Cllr Anthony Feely

Cllr Anthony Feely

Visit: Cllr Allan Rainey

Cllr Allan Rainey

Visit: Cllr Errol Thompson

Cllr Errol Thompson

Visit: Cllr Glenn Campbell

Cllr Glenn Campbell

Visit: Cllr John Coyle

Cllr John Coyle

Visit: Cllr John McClaughry

Cllr John McClaughry

Visit: Cllr Josephine Deehan

Cllr Josephine Deehan

Visit: Cllr Mary Garrity

Cllr Mary Garrity

Visit: Cllr Paul Robinson

Cllr Paul Robinson

Visit: Cllr Barry McElduff

Cllr Barry McElduff

Visit: Cllr Thomas O’Reilly

Cllr Thomas O’Reilly

Visit: Cllr Tommy Maguire

Cllr Tommy Maguire

Visit: Cllr Robert Irvine

Cllr Robert Irvine