Schools in the Fermanagh and Omagh Council Area Celebrate Eco-Schools Green Flag Awards

20th June 2023

PLEASE NOTE: This article is over 1 year old and may not contain the most up-to-date information.
Eco Schools   School of the Year

Teachers and pupils from across the council area have been recognised for their outstanding environmental work at this year’s Eco-Schools Green Flag Awards. 24 local schools received Green Flags with special recognition for the Eco-Teacher and Eco-Pupil of the Year. The awards have been supported by the Northern Ireland Housing Executive and Nexus.

The 2023 winners are

Green Flag: All Saints Primary School (Tattysallagh), Cooley Primary School (Sixmilecross), Denamona Primary School (Fintona), Enniskillen Integrated Primary School, Enniskillen Nursery, Gillygooley Primary School, Gortin Primary School, Holy Family Primary School (Omagh), Holy Trinity Primary School (Enniskillen), Jones Memorial Primary School (Enniskillen), Lisbellaw Primary School, McClintock Primary School (Seskinore), Omagh Country Primary School, St Brigid’s Primary School (Mountfield), St Colmcille’s Primary School (Carrickmore), St Kevin’s College (Lisnaskea), St Mary’s Primary School (Maguiresbridge), St Mary’s Primary School (Mullymesker), St Naile’s Primary School (Kinawley), St Oliver Plunkett Primary School (Beragh), St Patrick’s Primary School (Eskra), St Patrick’s Primary School (Gortin), St Patrick’s Primary School (Mullanaskea), St Ronan’s Primary School

Eco-Teacher of the Year (Sponsored by the Housing Executive): Una O’Donnell, Enniskillen Integrated Primary School

Eco-Pupil of the Year: James Connolly, St Mary’s Mullymesker

Eco-School of the Year (Sponsored by the Housing Executive): McClintock Primary School

Sinead Murray, Environmental Education Coordinator at Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful said:

“This year we have been really impressed by the quality of applications from schools across the council area. Pupils and teachers have really stepped up and get the importance of taking concrete action against the climate emergency. The creativity and determination displayed by pupils can give all of us confidence in the future. We are delighted to see the ethos of the Eco-Schools programme so warmly embraced by so many schools.”

Speaking at the Awards event, Chair of Fermanagh and Omagh District Council, Councillor Thomas O’Reilly, said:

“I would like to commend all of our young people and their teachers who engaged with the Eco-Schools programme over the past year and congratulate all of those who have been recognised as Eco-Schools Green Flag Award winners. In reality, we are all winners as a result of your actions which enrich our District, our communities and our lives.

The Council is pleased to support the Eco-Schools Programme as it aligns to the Education and Outreach theme within the Council’s Biodiversity Strategy.

The Council is committed to ensuring that our rich natural and cultural environment is protect, cherished, sustainably managed and appropriately accessible and it is important that we encourage our young people to strive towards this objective as the future residents of our District.”

Housing Executive Chair Nicole Lappin said: “Congratulations to all of this year’s winners: more new Green Flags, with special recognition for the council’s best Eco-School and Eco-Teacher of the Year.

“We would like to reiterate the importance of educating our young people in energy and environmental awareness and taking direct action for the protection of our environment. We believe it is vitally important for them to be fully aware of how precious our world is and that we need to do all we can to protect it.

“We are delighted to support these excellent Eco-Schools NI projects. We’ve been really impressed with the standard of work being produced by teachers, pupils, and the wider community. Their enthusiasm is truly inspirational and we are proud to support them in ensuring a better future for everyone.”