About the Council

160412 Fermanagh Omagh Boundary Map

Fermanagh and Omagh District Council is one of the 11 councils in Northern Ireland, established on 1st April 2015. It covers an area of 2,829km2 in the south west, approximately 20% of the land mass of Northern Ireland, stretching from Gortin to Rosslea and from Beragh to Belleek. The district is the largest, geographically, of the 11 council areas, however it has the smallest population with about 115,000 people.

The district is a place of outstanding natural beauty, with a unique mix of tranquil lakelands, heather clad mountains, ancient boglands, forest parks, historic towns and villages and a rich cultural heritage.

The Council has responsibility for statutory and regulatory functions including the Registration of Births, Deaths, Marriages and Civil Partnerships, Building Control, Planning, Environmental Health and Licensing.

It also delivers a range of public services including waste management and recycling, street cleansing, recreation, sport and leisure services, culture and arts facilities and events, tourism and economic development and regeneration, as well as community and good relations support.

Council services are delivered from both Omagh and Enniskillen, and all Council and Committee meetings alternate between the Grange in Omagh and the Townhall in Enniskillen.

The schedule of meetings is:

Council Meeting:                            First Tuesday

Environmental Services:              First Wednesday

Regeneration & Community:      Second Tuesday

Policy & Resources:                     Second Wednesday

Planning:                                          Third Wednesday

There are no Council or Committee Meetings in August.

Council Offices in both Omagh and Enniskillen are open 9:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday.

Telephone: 0300 303 1777

Email:  info@fermanaghomagh.com

Website:  www.fermanaghomagh.com