Motion: The Common Travel Area

Council Meeting - 5th July 2022

Fermanagh & Omagh District Council notes that the Common Travel Area (CTA) enables free
movement within the island of Ireland. However, it excludes people of other nationalities, in
particular citizens of countries in Africa, Asia, and South America.

This Council further notes that persons who lawfully reside and have made their homes on both
sides of the border on the island of Ireland are prevented from fully living their lives here.

Council recognises that there is effectively an invisible hard border that leads to racial discrimination
stopping particular people from living fluid cross border lives.

We welcome and endorse the following key actions proposed by the North West Migrants Forum,
Committee on the Administration of Justice (CAJ) and other partner organisations that the Dublin
government should take to assist residents of the North of Ireland seeking to travel into the Republic
of Ireland:

  • All lawful residents in the North can cross the land border as visitors without prior
  • Stopping racial profiling including ending all selective passport controls on the land border.
  • Restore the pre-2004 birth right to Irish citizenship and open a path through residence on
    the island.
  • Ensure essential cross-border services are open to all.

This Council further resolves to write to the following to indicate its endorsement of this motion:

  • the Shared Ireland Unit within the Department of the Taoiseach
  • the Minister for Justice (Minister McEntee)
  • the Chair of the Oireachtas Committee on the Implementation of the Good Friday Agreement
    (Fergus O’Dowd TD).

Proposed by: Cllr. McAleer (Independent), Seconded by: Cllr. Ó Cofaigh (Cross-Community Labour)