Council Chair hosts reception for Omagh Harriers and Sprint Academy Ireland

30th March 2023

PLEASE NOTE: This article is over 1 year old and may not contain the most up-to-date information.

Councillor, ladies and gentlemen

As Chair of Fermanagh and Omagh District Council, I am delighted to welcome you all here to The Grange, Omagh this afternoon for this reception in honour of Omagh Harriers and Spring Academy Ireland.

Omagh Harriers has been long established in the town, training and supporting athletes of all ages to strive to be at the top of their field.  Sprint Academy Ireland was established in 2010 by two Omagh Harriers, Trevor McGlynn and Mark Brearty, providing athletes and other sporting individuals the opportunity to develop their speed and power.

Omagh Harriers has also taken over the Spar Omagh Half Marathon in 2020 and has been running a very successful event since then.

The Club has had many excellent achievements over the years with Ulster, Leinster and All Ireland titles, however, this year you made history being the first club in history to win double at the All Ireland Championships.

Both the Men’s and Women’s Teams had a good race to win the 4 x 200m sprint relays.  The Women’s Team won last year with the Men’s Team just missing out in 3rd place, therefore there was great determination to achieve the double this year.

This success has shown that Omagh Harriers and Spring Academy Ireland can compete amongst the best athletes in the country, and I understand some of you are also going to the World Championships later this month.

The athlete, Steve Backley, once said “Athletes who are able to stay focussed in pursuit of their dreams are the ones that are most likely to become champions”.

This is true for Omagh Harriers as each of you is focussed on training in pursuit of winning your next race.

On behalf of Fermanagh and Omagh District Council, and on my own behalf, I would like to commend each of the team members on your success.  You have done yourselves, your families, your Club and your District proud.

Thank you.