Fermanagh and Omagh election results

10th May 2019

62 per cent of the eligible electorate of the Fermanagh and Omagh District turned out to vote at the Local Government elections on Thursday 2 May 2019 to select Councillors to serve on Fermanagh and Omagh District Council.

Votes were cast across the district’s seven District Electoral Areas (DEAs) to select 40 Councillors from a total of 75 candidates with turnout ranging from 50.73% in Omagh DEA to 71.62% in Erne East DEA.

The Omagh DEA had more candidates standing for election than any other DEA in Northern Ireland with a total of 16 candidates standing for 6 seats.

Counting took place on Friday 3 and Saturday 4 May at Omagh Leisure Complex with the following candidates elected to Fermanagh and Omagh District Council (names listed in order of when deemed elected):

Enniskillen DEA
Keith Elliott, DUP
Paul Blake, SDLP
Robert Irvine, UUP
Howard Thornton, UUP
Tommy Maguire, Sinn Féin
Donal O’Cofaigh, Cross Community Labour Alternative

Erne East DEA
Paul Robinson, DUP
Victor Warrington, UUP
John McCluskey, Independent
Thomas O’Reilly, Sinn Féin
Sheamus Greene, Sinn Féin
Garbhan McPhillips, SDLP

Erne North DEA
Diana Armstrong, UUP
John Coyle, SDLP
Siobhán Currie, Sinn Féin
John McClaughry, UUP
Deborah Armstrong, DUP

Erne West DEA
Alex Baird, UUP
Bernice Swift, Independent
Anthony Feely, Sinn Féin
Adam Gannon, SDLP
Chris McCaffrey, Sinn Féin

Mid Tyrone DEA
Emmet McAleer, Independent
Pádraigin Kelly, Sinn Féin
Catherine Kelly, Sinn Féin
Bert Wilson, UUP
Sean Clarke, Sinn Féin
Sean Donnelly, Sinn Féin

Omagh DEA
Errol Thompson, DUP
Barry McElduff, Sinn Féin
Josephine Anne Deehan, Independent
Stephen Donnelly, Alliance Party
Christopher Smyth, UUP
Anne Marie Fitzgerald, Sinn Féin

West Tyrone DEA
Mark Buchanan, DUP
Allan Rainey, UUP
Mary Garrity, SDLP
Anne-Marie Donnelly, Sinn Féin
Glenn Campbell, Sinn Féin
Stephen McCann, Sinn Féin

Seats as follows:
Sinn Féin 15
Alliance Party 1
Cross Community Labour Alternative 1
Independent 4

There are a total of 13 new Councillors who will sit with the re-elected 27 on the newly formed Council.  The Council will hold its Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 22 May 2019 at the Townhall, Enniskillen at 7.00pm when positions of responsibility including Chair and Vice Chair of the Council and Chair of the various Council Committees, based on D’Hondt, will be decided. Councillor Howard Thornton will continue to act as Chairman of the Council until then.

The Council term will run for four years, 2019 – 2023, with Councillors making decisions on behalf of residents to improve the overall social, economic and environmental wellbeing of the Fermanagh and Omagh District.

In 2019-20, the Council will oversee a £12.5m capital programme to include, among others, the Enniskillen Public Realm Scheme, upgrades to pitches, playparks and outdoor spaces; Marble Arch Caves redevelopment; Village Renewal Scheme; Gortin Glens Forest Park redevelopment and improvements to community centres.

The Council will also oversee a £35m net revenue budget which will be used to deliver a rage of Council services across the district including waste collection and disposal; maintenance of parks and open spaces; environmental health; economic development; the ongoing operation of Council leisure centres, theatres and arts centres, visitor attractions, community facilities, public conveniences and administrative centres; and registration of births, deaths, marriages and civil partnerships. The Council will also support a range of events and initiatives throughout the year aimed at improving the wellbeing of Fermanagh and Omagh residents.

For further information on the Council or election results, please visit Fermanagh and Omagh District Council website.